View our visitor statistics
Just Because - The belly dancers' charity raising funds for a mobile mammography unit for Egypt.
Nikki, our Scotland rep received this message this morning (6th Aug 09)and forwarded it to me.

If anyone else gets one of these give it the 10 foot barge pole treatment. It stinks of SCAM.


---------------------------- Original Message ----------------------------
Subject: Dance classes
From:    "Benjamin Oakley" <benjaminoakley1@yahoo.co.uk>
Date:    Thu, August 6, 2009 1:31 am
To:      xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Greetings

I will be coming into the country with group of 10. We will like to  book
for 2 weeks dance classes (3 hours each day Monday to Friday). It  should
be morning hours. Please kindly advise what dances you teach.
Do you have a training studio/facility where you conduct the classes?
DATE 12th OCTOBER to 26TH October 2009.
Please kindly confirm the reservation with the following details:
1. Your full name:
2. Contact address:
3. Phone number(s):
4. Charges per hour
5. Deposit needed to fully secure the reservation:
6. Payment option: Do you accept credit cards?
7. Type of dances taught by you:
Please send a confirmation to this email IN THE BODY OF THE EMAIL (NOT as
an attachment please)

Get back to me with your response as we don't have much time with us so
that we can process our accommodation within the region more convenient
for you and us.

Best Regards
Benjamin Oakley
18 Brunswick Sq.
Broad Street
Birmingham
C7 7HW    UK
Phone: +44 (0) 701-112-1989



I don't know what this guy's angle is but to me it stinks worse than a broken sewer main on a hot day.
Warning signs:

The offer is too good to be true

It was made to Nikki who isn't even a teacher (yet)

It was sent at 1.31 am, suggesting that it's from somewhere other than the UK although the sender claims to be from Birmingham.

It's a generic message, he knows nothing about the recipient, not even the type of dance, but wants to bring 10 people from abroad for two weeks of classes???? (If only money was this easy to make!!)

The  sender has an English name but the written English is 2nd language.

Post code doesn't relate to the address (non existent post code)

The phone number is a "Follow Me" number ... not related to any address and therefor untraceable.

I don't quite see his angle but it's got SCAM written all over it!!